Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Three Menorahs


"There are three different menorot: The menorah of Moshe Rabbeinu, the menorah of Zecharyah [in his prophetic vision] and the menorah of Matityahu.

"The two, from Moshe and Zecharyah, had seven lights each. Matityahu's, which is the menorah of Chanukah, had eight lights.

"One is for this world, and one is for the time of Mashiach; these are of seven, hinting at sets of seven, in that this world lasts for six thousand years and then the seventh thousand is entirely Shabbat.

"The menorah of Matityahu, of eight lights, is for the next world, as it is written (Tehillim 12:1), 'For the conductor, upon the eighth." The eighth is Shemini Atzeret, which is the great Jubilee, entirely holy. Shavuot is in the eight week, after we have counted seven weeks."

(Derashot R' Yehosua Ibn Shuib, Parshat Miketz)

Have a great day,

No comments:

Post a Comment